

State of Maryland

Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems

> 653 West Pratt Street Baltimore, Maryland 21201-1536

> > Larry Hogan Governor

Clay B. Stamp, NRP Chairman Emergency Medical Services Board

Theodore R. Delbridge, MD, MPH Executive Director

> 410-706-5074 FAX 410-706-4768

Statewide EMS Advisory Council (SEMSAC) AGENDA

November 7, 2019 1:00pm – 3:00pm

- I. Call to Order Dr. Kalish
- II. Approval of the October 3, 2019 meeting minutes Dr. Kalish
- III. MIEMSS Report Dr. Delbridge
- IV. Legislative Update Ms. Gainer
- V. SEMSAC Chair Report Dr. Kalish
- VI. MSFA Update
- VII. MSPAC Captain McMinn
- VIII. Committee Reports
 - ALS
 - BLS Mr. Tiemersma
 - Regional Affairs Mr. Smothers
 - IX. Old Business
 - Volunteer Ambulance Inspection Program ACTION Mr. Naumann
 - X. New Business
 - SEMSAC Election of Officers Chairperson and Vice Chairperson ACTION - Ms. Goff



State EMS Advisory Council (SEMSAC)

November 7, 2019 **Meeting Minutes**

State of Maryland

Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems

> 653 West Pratt Street Baltimore, Maryland 21201-1536

> > Larry Hogan Governor

Clay B. Stamp, NRP Chairperson Emergency Medical Services Board

Theodore R. Delbridge, MD, MPH Executive Director

> 410-706-5074 FAX 410-706-4768

SEMSAC Members Present:

Murray Kalish, MD, Chairman; Karen Doyle; John Filer; Michael Cox; Jeffrey Fillmore, MD; Habeeba Park, MD; Wade Gaasch; Kathleen Grote; Tim Burns; Scott Haas; Keith McMinn; Aviation Division; Melissa Meyers, BSN, RN; Tim Kerns; Wayne Tiemersma; Jim Matz; Lisa Tenney (phone); Jennifer Anders, MD; Brian Frankel; Linda Dousa; Michael Millin, MD:

Members Absent:

Wayne Dyott; Rosemary Kozar, MD; Karen Vogel, RN; Michael DeRuggiero

MSFA: President Michael Faust; 1st VP Chuck Walker; 2nd VP Joel McCrea; Ms. Tomanelli

MSPAC: Major Tagliaferri

Others: Bill Dousa

OAG: Mr. Magee; Ms. Sette

<u>MIEMSS</u>: Ted Delbridge, MD; Tim Chizmar, MD; Jeannie Abramson; Sherry Alban; Jim Brown; John Barto; Mark Bilger; Carole Mays; Barbara Goff

Chairman Kalish called the meeting to order at 1:05pm.

ACTION: A motion was made by Ms. Grote, seconded by Ms. Doyle, and unanimously voted upon to approve the minutes of the October 3, 2019 meeting.

MIEMSS Report

Dr. Delbridge gave an update on the following initiatives:

CHATS

Dr. Delbridge said that due to the integrity of the current software, a new hospital alerting system is necessary. Dr. Delbridge gave an overview of the results of the two surveys sent to hospital stakeholders. A lengthy discussion followed regarding the type and uniformity of alerts needed, including Mini Disaster, Jurisdictional re-routes, specialty center diversion and access to information or local dispatch centers.

EMS Plan 2020

Dr. Delbridge said that the EMS Plan Steering Committee had met and reviewed the draft Plan for any suggested changes or additions. The latest draft of the EMS Plan is available on the MIEMSS website, along with registration for the EMS Plan Summit is on December 18, 2019.

Legislative Update

A copy of the November 2019 ED Overcrowding Update Report was distributed.

Ms. Gainer gave an overview of the 2019 ED Overcrowding Update Report. The report includes updates on adding ED performance measures in the hospital quality reimbursement program; requesting hospital efficiency improvement action plans from hospitals that have poor ED performance measures; reevaluating the use of yellow alerts; identifying a reasonable standard for ambulance off-load time and developing new models of EMS care delivery (there are currently 9 mobile integrated health programs with 2 additional in progress). Ms. Gainer said that the HSCRC Care redesign program might be the best way to allow for EMS Reimbursements for new models of care.

SEMSAC Chairman's Report

Chairman Kalish reported that the EMS Board voted to approve the Charles County Emergency Services ALS & BLS Refresher Programs for initial 5-year designation and the following Educational Programs for the renewal of 5-year designations:

- Anne Arundel Community College Paramedic Program
- College of Southern Maryland Paramedic Program
- Harford Community College Paramedic Program
- Howard Community College Paramedic Program
- Montgomery Community College Paramedic Program
- Peninsula Regional Medical Center ALS & BLS Refresher Program

Chairman Kalish said that the joint meeting of the EMS Board and SEMSAC is January 14, 2020.

MSFA

Ms. Tomanelli said for any information on the upcoming Legislative session, please contact PP Johnnie Roth, Chairman of the MSFA Legislative Committee.

The MSFA Executive Committee meeting is on December 8th and 9th at the Sudlersville Volunteer Fire Company, 203 N Church St, Sudlersville, MD 21668.

MSPAC Update

Captain McMinn reported that MSPAC Chief Pilot Mike Garland has retired. MSPAC continues actively pursuing pilot and paramedic recruitments.

Committee Reports

Regional Affairs Committee

Mr. Tiemersma said that the 50/50 grants applications have been reviewed and approved by the Regional Affairs Committee (RAC). He added that the RAC recommends funding sources for the 50%, needed by jurisdictions and departments, be determined prior to submitting an application.

Chairman Kalish said the report on Cardiac Device funding would be available for the December 4, 2019 meeting.

OLD BUSINESS

Volunteer Ambulance Inspection Program (VAIP)

No comments received regarding the changes to the Volunteer Ambulance Inspections Program (VAIP).

ACTION: A motion was made by Ms. Grote, seconded by Dr. Fillmore and unanimously voted upon to recommend that 2019 VAIP to the EMS Board for approval as written.

NEW BUSINESS

SEMSAC Election of Officers

Paper ballots for Chairperson and Vice Chairperson were distributed.

Chairman Kalish said that the nominees for SEMSAC Chairperson are Wayne Tiemersma and Tim Burns. He called for nominations from the floor. Hearing no additional nominees from the floor, the call for nominees closed.

Ms. Goff collected the ballots. Mr. Magee and Ms. Goff tallied the ballots with the following results: Mr. Tiemersma was elected as Chairperson.

Chairman Kalish said the nominee for SEMSAC Vice Chairperson is Karen Doyle as Mr. Tiemersma has been elected Chairperson. He called for nominations from the floor. Dr. Fillmore nominated Eric Smothers for Vice Chairperson in lieu of Mr. Tiemersma who had been on the ballot.

Ms. Goff collected the ballots. Mr. Magee and Ms. Goff tallied the ballots with the following results: Ms. Doyle was elected as Vice Chairperson for calendar year 2020.

Having no further business to discuss, the SEMSAC adjourned by acclamation.