Trauma Centers

Injured patients need treatment at the hospital best staffed and equipped to meet their special needs. Maryland's system of care ensures that patients promptly get to the most appropriate hospital in an effort to decrease morbidity and mortality. (For differences in standards in the levels of trauma centers, see the Trauma Center Categorization chart below.)

The trauma centers within the Maryland EMS System are:

Primary Adult Resource Center (PARC) 

R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center/University of Maryland Medical System, Baltimore City


Pediatric Trauma Centers

Pediatric Trauma Center/The Johns Hopkins Children’s Center, Baltimore City
Pediatric Trauma Center/Children's National Medical Center, Washington, DC


Level I Trauma Center

The Johns Hopkins Hospital Adult Trauma Center, Baltimore City


Level II Trauma Centers

The Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, Baltimore City
Prince George's Hospital Center (UMCRH), Cheverly
Sinai Hospital (LifeBridge Health), Baltimore City
Suburban Hospital (JHM), Bethesda


Level III Trauma Centers

Meritus Medical Center, Hagerstown
UPMC Western Maryland, Cumberland
TidalHealth Peninsula Regional, Salisbury


Trauma Center Categorization